More Paint

One of the things I least liked about our house was the fireplace. Or, more specifically, the hearth.

We can’t afford to tear out the old, ugly-ass tile just yet. But every time I was in the room I remembered how very much I loathed the look of it.

The previous owner says it is original to the house. Usually, I like old stuff. I do not like this.

IMG_2856

I hate the colors. I hate the design (if you can even call it that). I hate that it doesn’t go with anything else in the house. I hate that it looks dirty (the fireplace is not functional any longer).

So, one day when I could no longer stand to look at it, I painted it.

I used the same Dutch Boy Cabinet and Trim paint I mentioned in a previous post in the color Waimea White for the hearth and brick. I used Rustoleum Metallic Accents that was left over from painting an accent wall in the kid’s room for the firebox.

I added a silver tray and white candles from IKEA to dress it up a bit. I plan to add more candles on my next trip to IKEA (they were out of the largest ones when I visited).

IMG_3940

It needs a bit of touch up, but otherwise, I love it. I can live with this for a long while until we can have the hearth re-done in a gorgeous tile (I’m leaning toward mother-of-pearl tile).

Bonus pic: Since I mentioned the accent wall… Our offspring likes to make art. She wanted a “gallery wall” in her room where she can display her varied paintings, drawings, and other works of art and craft. A couple coats of the Rustoleum Metallic Accent did quite nicely. She loves it.

IMG_2990

Leave a Reply

